freshman orientation

Happy Tuesday!

This past week I was at my freshman orientation at the University of Minnesota, and lemme just say, WOW I LOVE THIS SCHOOL. It is so beautiful and Minneapolis is incredible. Minnesota, who knew? Assuming that my education turns out pretty well, imagine if I hadn’t have applied there spur of the moment? Oh how life would be different.

Orientation was one long and really tedious day, all to not really learn anything that I didn’t know. I did get to register for my classes though which was really cool, and I got to meet my academic advisor who seems pretty chill.

Being thrown into some random group at orientation showed me what it was really like to not know a single person going to this school. Within my group, I could instantly tell who was going to group off, and I ended up being pretty spot-on. There were the REALLY weird people, the guys with manbuns that felt the need to vape all day, the super popular and ditsy-looking girls, and then me and my fellow middle-of-the-roaders.

ALSO: the number of times that I was asked why I chose to come to Minnesota all the way from New York. TOO MANY.

But, as I started to sort of make friends, we ended up having fun after orientation was over because we tried to go to Dinkytown, got lost, made it, and then made it back in the dark. Who knows if I’ll actually meet up with these people again once school actually starts, but it proved to me that I most likely will be capable of actually making friends there.

For classes, I’m taking an intro to logic course, an “understanding cultures” anthropology course (YES), the pre-journalism course, Arabic, and campus orchestra. I had to fight to take orchestra because that puts me at 19 credits but it’s just orchestra and hopefully it won’t be hard??? And there was no audition so it can’t be that bad, right??? (Conflicted too because I have to bring my viola but I also really want to bring my guitar and how do I get that there/where do I put it but I really want it ://////// )

I’m semi terrified to take Arabic, but, new school new me and I am up for the challenge.

What I also loved about having no friends and being a complete stranger was that I get to really embrace being the person that I’ve always wanted to be without fear of judgement from my high school peers. I am so excited for this. I’m even considering picking figure skating back up because why not? And it’s Minnesota so duh. I also want to learn how to play hockey. SOOOO excited for hockey.

Here are some cool pictures-

sc dorm viewzwashave1wash ave2yellowwashave3Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

After I finished registering for classes on day 2, my mom and I went to the Minneapolis Sculpture Garden and then inside the Walker Art Museum.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

windchimes

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset
Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

yellow thing

You can’t beat the cherry. Iconic.

Minneapolis and UMN, I love you. Please be good to me.

Leave a Reply

