Dia:Beacon

Yesterday I went to Dia:Beacon, an art museum containing art from the 1960’s to the present located on The Hudson River in Beacon, New York.

Beacon itself is quite incredible. Filled with millennial hipsters, I truly feel like I belong. If there were a college in Beacon, I definitely would not have been so willing to ship myself to Minneapolis for the next four years. Beacon is truly one of New York’s gems outside of the city. Anything millennial and hipster-ish that you can think of, Beacon’s got it.

My friend and I first stopped at Bank Sq. Coffeehouse, where I got a delightful bagel with cream cheese and an iced coffee with a shot of caramel.

coffeebagel.jpg

We then walked around and stopped into some of my favorite stores, including flora, my favorite plant store.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetflora2flora1

The strength that it took to resist buying something here was unbelievable, but I had to resist because I’d have to figure out how to ship it and I’m just too lazy for that.

Next, we made our way to Dia, which was by far the best museum that I have ever been to. I have been to a moderate number of museums, but no museum has ever intrigued me like this one did. I definitely enjoyed the giant warehouse feel because that design style is my skin and blood, and the plethora of windows made it feel more open and less depressing than I have found a lot of other museums to feel.

Below are pictures showcasing the “warehouse” feel.

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

Some of my favorite exhibits were the piles of random materials on the floor, such as these:

Processed with VSCO with a6 presetProcessed with VSCO with a6 preset

And lastly, there were many cool light pieces, but I only took a picture of one, whereas all of my other light-related pictures came from my polaroid camera.

circle lights

Overall, there was just something about this museum that felt right. I don’t love museums, but I do enjoy going to them. I’m not one to really sit around and absorb everything that every piece of art has to offer. I applaud the people who truly try to understand a work of art, all the way from what the artist had in mind, how they created it, and what it’s supposed to represent or mean. This museum still didn’t really inspire me to do that, which was okay, but I liked the seeming simplicity of the majority of the pieces. The one exhibit, as seen in the picture of the white wall with the black marks, really made me think about how much work and precision went into creating that exhibit. The picture here does not do this artist justice, for most of his other works were insanely more complex and precise. It blew my mind that someone could create such precision on such a large-sized palette without smudging it.

Another exhibit that intrigued me that for whatever reason I did not take pictures of was the exhibit where for a good portion of the building there were just straight lines of primary or black/white colored string stretching from either floor to ceiling or creating leaning shapes on the walls. This one spoke to me because it’s something that I haven’t seen before, it looked really cool, and it was so simple. Anyone could’ve thought to do that in the shower, yet it’s a legit and precise work of art. Art is amazing.

I loved the light exhibits and the exhibit with the piles of random things on the floor because I know that even though it looks completely random, it was obsessively planned out to articulate exactly what the artist had in mind.

Most of the art museums that I have previously been in have not impressed me, and have always left me with the feeling that I’m sure many of the featured artists feel very often: pure depression. I don’t know what it is, but I just get such a gloomy and melancholy feeling in art museums. Not Dia. I truly felt my mind being put to work, absorbing the processes and work of the different artists and their pieces.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset(a small collection of some of the polaroids that I took from the overall day)

A great way to start to finish out my adventures in the 845 before I leave.

Thanks, Dia:Beacon.

Processed with VSCO with a6 preset

Also, look at how stylish my shoes are. I’ve been looking for a quality pair of Oxfords that are vegan and didn’t cost over $100 forever and finally found these at Matt & Nat.

Can’t forget the chili pepper socks, an Urban Outfitters special, and my olive Tomgirls from American Eagle.

 

Leave a Reply

